Splitting the check

Dinner for two

My sweetheart and I dated for 5 months and have been “going steady” for three months now. We’ve painted the town red and now paying for dinner has become almost a sore subject. It’s not a big argument, it’s more of a discussion we have after we’ve made the decision to eat out and picked the venue.

Whether it’s Thai or hamburgers, our conversations usually go something like this:

“You got this babe?” he says, “or I got this?”

“I paid last time. It’s your turn.”

“But I got groceries… ”

“Hmmm, you’re right. I got you babe!”

Sometimes, if the bill is sky high, we’ll split it. People, he’s no cheapskate. He buys me gifts and takes me out on dates (i.e. places other than dining, like the movies) without a debate. I don’t mind paying my fair share of our dinner adventures as we often seek out new restaurants. Deep down inside, it sort of bothers me a little bit… but it shouldn’t. I’ve been wined and dined by other men, men who didn’t make the cut. This one did. He’s fair and he’s also a gentleman. Chivalry isn’t dead nor was it murdered by feminism. Is it fair for men to foot the bill all the time? No. It’s not fair.

On the first date, it’s customary to do the “check dance” where you fight over who gets to pay. I will say, the man should pay on the first date. How does it work for same sex dating? I have no idea. Please comment below if you know and would like to share. After the first date I think it’s okay to go dutch or trade off who pays.

So there you have it, it doesn’t bother me enough to be a deal breaker. He’s smart with money, he’s fair, he treats me well and we take turns paying for dinner. He’s a keeper!

4 thoughts on “Splitting the check

  1. adropofno5

    Sounds like you’ve found the perfect guy! The whole debate over who should pay is a tricky one, we demand that we really should pay this time but then we get disappointed when they accept our offer haha. Love your writing style, keep it up xx

  2. Sounds like you guys understand eachother more than you guys think! When I was dating my baby daddy, we did the “check dance” first date as well, but obviously he took the bill that time. Once things got comfortable between us, at about 5 months, we always alternate, or split the checks. To me, it was never about being spoiled, it’s about fairness. They’re your “partner” not your mom.. Hahaha . Idk that’s just my opinion. If a guy offers to, let him, but to me there’s nothing wrong with give and take.

Leave a Reply

