American Lovers

My American boy
Tall, dark and handsome
I play with you like a toy

I love you so much
And I’ll tell you why
If you sit down
And have a piece of my apple pie

Close your eyes and see
You’re just like me
We want to be free
And run wild like the wind
To be ourselves
And not have to pretend

To exercise the choice
To choose love over hate
To tell the old prejudice to
Get up to date

You and I are so alike
When you smile I laugh
When I’m sad you cry

My American girl
Sweet, smart and living next door
Through rose-colored lenses,
How different you see the world

I love you so much
And I’ll tell you why
If you open your door
And let me come inside

Close your eyes and see
You’re just like me
We work hard and strive
To be the best we can be

To be faithful and true
To show our true colors
Red, white and blue

To exercise the right
Of free speech and religion
To hell with the state
It’s love we believe in

You and I are so alike
When you speak I listen
When I’m wronged
You seek to make it right

Love is our song
Love is our fate
We’ll love each other forever
It’s our bond
We’re soul mates

Star-crossed lovers
It’s just us against the world
But we’ve got each other
American Boy and American Girl

Leave a Reply

